↑ Return to Criminal Defense

Pittsburgh DUI Lawyer

Have You Been Charged With A DUI?

Pittsburgh DUI Attorney Joseph Pometto
Drunk Driving and Driving Under The Influence of Drugs are common reasons to be charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence). The moment you are pulled over and accused of DUI, understanding your rights will make a difference. Call Pittsburgh DUI Attorney Joseph Pometto 412-593-4529 – he can guide you through the legal complexities of a DUI in Western Pennsylvania.

The DUI laws in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania are very clear. Punishment can be expensive fines and lengthy Drivers License Suspensions. Attempting to “represent yourself” or to “go with the flow” are not options that benefit you. Pittsburgh DUI Attorney Joseph Pometto is familiar with the details of the Pennsylvania DUI laws. His experience and knowledge can help defend you, when you need it most.

There are many varying factors that can contribute to the severity of a DUI charge(s). The Blood/Alcohol measurement in addition to number of times you have been charged with a DUI are the primary factors that will dictate the severity of your DUI charge(s). The laws are clear on the mandatory minimum punishments for each variable. Below is a list of the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania DUI Guidelines:


General BAC (.08 to .099% BAC)

No prior DUI offenses

  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • up to 6 months probation
  • $300 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered

1 prior DUI offense

  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 5 days to 6 months jail time
  • $300 to $2,500 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

2 or more prior DUI offenses

  • 2nd degree misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 10 days to 2 years prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock


High BAC penalties (.10 to .159% BAC)

No prior DUI offenses

  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 48 hours to 6 months prison
  • $500 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered

1 prior DUI offense

  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month suspension
  • 30 days to 6 months prison
  • $750 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

2 or more prior DUI offenses

  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

3 or more prior DUI offenses

  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 1 to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,000 fine
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock


Highest BAC penalties (.16% and higher)

No prior DUI offenses

  • ungraded misdemeanor
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 72 hours to 6 months prison
  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered

1 prior DUI offense

  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 90 days to 5 years prison
  • $1,500 to $10,00 fine
  • alcohol highway safety school
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock

2 or more prior DUI offenses

  • 1st degree misdemeanor
  • 18 month license suspension
  • 1 to 5 years prison
  • $2,500 to $10,000
  • treatment when ordered
  • 1 year ignition interlock



If you are convicted of DUI in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania there are minimum Drivers License Suspension guidelines.

DUI Related Drivers License Suspensions

Suspensions will be imposed as follows:

BAC below .10% and incapable of safe driving: No suspension for first offense if the driver meets certain criteria; 12 month license suspension for second or subsequent offense.

BAC greater than or equal to .10% and less than .16%: 12 month license suspension for first and second offense. 18 month suspension for third or subsequent offense.

BAC greater than or equal to .16%: 12 month license suspension for first offense. 18 month suspension for second or subsequent offense.

Out-of-state DUI convictions: No suspension for first offense; 12 month license suspension for second or subsequent offense.

For More Information About Drivers License Suspensions Visit our Pittsburgh Traffic Offense Lawyer Now.